The Foreign Languages Department is comprised of a very diverse group of persons, with numerous international cultural experiences as language professionals and individuals. We share our expertise and first-hand knowledge of the languages, literatures, and cultures of other nations in an effort to promote the understanding and value of human, cultural, and ethnic diversity in our global community.

Department Leadership

Phone:
(810) 762-3370
Email:
djtrela@umflint.edu

Dr. D.J. Trela, Professor & Interim Chair

Email:
ihakam@umflint.edu

Dr. Imane A. Hakam, Associate Professor

French Section Coordinator

Phone:
(810) 762-3370
Email:
jlawand@umflint.edu

Dr. Jamile T. Lawand, Associate Professor

Phi Sigma Iota (Rho Rho Chapter)
Advisor & Spanish Section Coordinator


Courses:
Beginning Spanish I
Survey of Spanish Literature: Middle Ages to 1700


Blog: http://spanish-spot.blogspot.com

Phone:
(810) 762-3370
Email:
pons@umflint.edu

Dr. Dolores Pons-Hervás

Spanish Basic Courses Coordinator

Courses:

Beginning Spanish I
Intermediate Spanish I

Lecturers

Phone:
(810) 762-3370
Email:
daassa@umflint.edu

Dr. Mohamed Daassa

Courses:
Beginning Standard Arabic I
Beginning French I
Beginning French II
Reading French

Phone:
(810) 232-8879
Email:
jennifer.doerr@mcc.edu

Jennifer Doerr

Courses:
American Sign Language II

Phone:
(810) 762-3370
Email:
giselef@umflint.edu

Gisele Farah

Courses:
Beginning French I

Phone:
(810) 762-3370
Email:
jingfu@umflint.edu

Dr. Jing Fu

Courses:
Basic Chinese Language & Culture
Beginning Mandarin Chinese I

Phone:
(810) 762-3370
Email:
tknoll@umflint.edu

Theresa Knoll

Courses:
Beginning Spanish I
Beginning Spanish II

Phone:
(810) 762-3370
Email:
elkekra@umflint.edu

Elke Kramer

Courses:
Beginning German I
German Conversation
Business German

Phone:
(810) 250-7029
Email:
stevie.naeyaert@mcc.edu

Stephanie Naeyaert

Courses:
American Sign Language I

Phone:
(810) 762-3370
Email:
jvtyler@umflint.edu

Dr. Joseph Tyler

Courses:
Beginning Spanish II